Media > Events  

10th Hikal Cup Corporate Tennis Tournament


The prestigious “Hikal Cup” Corporate Tennis Tournament for the year 2011 was played at the Bombay Gymkhana Tennis Courts from March 4 – 6, 2011. For the first time, eight women representing different corporate entities participated.  Hikal Cup completed a decade in promoting sports for corporates. Over the years Hikal Cup has gained a lot of popularity amongst the tennis aficionados and corporate houses thereby witnessing increased participation every year.

More than 32 corporate teams battled it out for the Hikal Cup 2011 which not only marked the 10th year of the tournament but also highlighted 10 glorious years of Hikal’s association with Bombay Gymkhana in promoting sports and sportsmanship amongst corporates.

The corporate teams that participated in the this years Hikal Cup include  Reliance Industries, Bharat Petroleum, Deutsche Bank, MTNL, BSNL, Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Power, Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd., IOCL, Bank of America, Department of Income Tax, JM Financial, Renaissance Hotel, Regional Transport Office – Thane, BMR Advisors, C3 Advisors, NTPC, amongst many others. Former National Champion and Davis Cup player Sunil Kumar Sipaeya representing Indian Oil Corporation will also be particpating.

The tournament was played on knock-out basis with each team playing two singles and one doubles match. The winner’s title for the 10th Hikal Cup Corporate Invitation Tennis Tournament went to Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. (IOCL) and Desai & Diwanji.

Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. (IOCL) beat Sri Laxmi Mining Corporation (2-1) to emerge as champions in the 10th Hikal Cup.

Former National Champion and Davis Cup player Sunil Kumar Sipaeya representing IOCL beat Keshavan Narasimhan (6-2) from Sri Lakshmi Mining Corporation in the singles tournament. Sunil Sipaeya combined with S. Venkatesh beat Keshavan Narasimhan and Raghuram Uppilli 6-5 (7-3) in the doubles match.

In a closely fought battle right to the finish, Sri Laxmi Mining Corporation lost to the Indian Oil Team.  The final match moved into a tie breaker where Sri Laxmi Mining played hard but eventually lost 7-4.

Priyanka Deo from Desai & Diwanji bagged the Women’s Singles title (6-1) against Anisa Shelar from Altamount Capital

Other Prize winners:

  • Best player of the Tournament - National Champion and Davis Cup Player Sunil Kumar Sipaeya from IOCL
  • Most Improved player of the Tournament - Keshavan Narsimhan from Sri Laxmi Mining Corporation.
  • Best Team of the Tournament - Income Tax

The winners and runners up of the tournament were presented with the trophies at a gala ceremony by Mr. Jai Hiremath, Vice-Chairman and Managing Director, Hikal and his wife
Mrs Sugandha Hiremath.